The “Possibles” bag

When I was younger, I read a book about Jim Bridger, a mountain man of the 1800’s frontier of America.  Like many folk heroes of the time, he was colorful and his legend has grown with time.  One part of the book that caught my attention, much to the chagrin of my parents, was the possibles bag that Jim kept with him at all times.  It carried things that could “possibly” be useful by Bridger during his time away from civilization, and sometimes in it.

Inspired, I built my own possibles bag, and kept it with me throughout much of my growing up years.  I used it while camping and hiking, and I always felt more prepared and confident while carrying it.

Today, being a gentleman of style and substance, I believe that we should embrace the possibles bag.  And while the bag of today will differ from Mr. Bridger’s in content and construction, I have found my own to be invaluable.

My current possibles bag was purchased from Levenger, and it is a small nylon zip bag with two pouches.  In one pouch I carry equipment for managing my diabetes.  In the other, I carry items that I have found invaluable on several occasions.  I offer this list as a potential beginning point for items in your own bag.

Band aids – no need to go overbaord, 5 in the medium size range will do for small cuts, and that’s really all you would need them for.  Anything larger, and you need to handle it differently

Medication – two doses of ibuprofen, acetaminophen and some type of migraine medicine.

Duct tape – wrapped around a small round stick.  It works for so many situations, from fixing a hem to covering a cut (when you forget to restock the band aids)

Safety pins – a better way to handle that hem, and to hold seams together that want to let go at inconvenient times

Lighter – no, I’m not a smoker, but the lighter has come in handy for lighting small stoves during a cooking demonstration, to name a specific instance, and many others

Flashlight – losing power?  Maybe, or how about looking behind a desk to see where that paper was dropped.

Pen-Knife – preferably one attached to a multi tool of some kind.  I’m reminded of my honeymoon, when I didn’t have a bottle openeer. . . invention worked, but I would rather have had a Swiss army knife.

Pen – the longest memory is less effective than the smallest pencil (or pen).  Most times you have one, but for the times you don’t, it’s good to have a spare.

Handkerchief – a mark of style, and a gracious gesture to a young lady, to say nothing of having it on hand to clean up from impromptu repair work.

What other items do you think are necessary to be be prepared?  Share your thoughts below.

Leave a Reply

