Something That Scares You!

When I think of my dad, I remember him being a powerful man, a man of resolve and a man who was always up for an adventure.  That was powerful to me.

In fact, it left me with a zest for life myself. 

Not every dad seeks out adventure on the side of a mountain or in the competitive environment of athletics. But by the very fact that they are dads we can know that they don’t shy away from adventure.  Indeed, every day spent raising children is an adventure.

Tomorrow, I am going to embark on the conclusion of one of the biggest adventures of my life:  I’m running a Marathon.  26.2 miles, non stop,  and I will be the first to admit that I am more than a little intimidated by the prospect.  But I am doing it.  I’m doing it in part because my own love of adventure spurs me on. 

But I also do it because I want my own children to grow up being inspires to take on adventures of their own.  Whether it is something as grand as finding a cure for a deathly malady through researching tirelessly in a high tech lab or something as simple as being a father themselves.

Whatever their choices, they will find choosing adventure is always interesting, rewarding, Amd satisfying.  Hopefully I still.feel the same tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

