Turning 40

My sister in law asked several of us if we had any advice we would give to get husband who is turning 40. It’s caused me to think a lot about the things that have happened in the past 5 years since I hit that milestone, so I’m leaving a few things that i wish i had better understood.

1 – it’s not all about me. The successes, the failures, the near misses and skin of my teeth victories are not all about me. There is always a team involved, spring me. And they need me to recognize them in the midst of everything else going on.

2 – little things matter. Birthdays, anniversaries, holidays, those I tend to get right (except 2003, that was a bad year).  At least as important, however, are the mornings where we sleep in just a few extra minutes, the hug on the way out the door, the afternoons spent doing nothing, just being together.

3 – train less, play more.  In all the work that I have done getting ready for events, I have sometimes missed out on just playing with my kids. When i do it right, playing benefits us all. I still try to train, but i try to do that when the kids aren’t around, and I play when they are.

4 – trust Father. At times I have felt like God was ignoring me, only to realize later that what I thought were installed to be overcome were really choose correction points He was using to position me where I could do the most good

5 – listen more. When I listen, I learn. Then when I am asked to share, I have more insights and they seem to be more appreciated.

Well, there they are. If my brother in law find them useful, that’s great. If the readers here find it useful, that’s fine too. If not, flush it, no big deal.  But they will continue to work for me.

Leave a Reply

